Interview with “Albert Schwartz” (Ultrastretch)

6/07/2012

.
.
Hello Albert, it’s a pleasure for us make this little chat with you. We have listened some of your works and we are very very curious to learn even more about you :)

.
.
– On your bio you talk about your love for RZA, Perlon, Kenny Dixon, Marvin Gaye and lot of Soul, R&B and Hip-Hop. What do you think is the best way to tribute this influence? How it influenced your production?
It’s all about atmosphere, i do music with picture in my head. It’s important that i feel the same atmosphere as the picture in my head. I was grown up with this music and i still love to listen. In my performance always try to go back to the old school, because i like this all! From the producing point of view i love Hip Hop just not the new, even thought i grow up listening Wu Tang Klan and ’70/’80 stuff, but i can’t really get into it!
I’m still in the search, i’m an absolute beginner. I’m doing this, taking it seriously since two/three years. Before than i was totally into HipHop, i was MC back in the days and  i’m still down with it! I was born in Ghana and Ghana is the land of drumming, if you are from Ghana you take a lot about rhythm with you. So my style is  bringing old stuff with new stuff together, but still trying to get the sound from the old, DIRTY BUT CLEAN!

.
.
– A debut with all the best intentions. You did the third release of the brilliant Sammy Dee’s Ultrastretch and you received a restyle from a:rpia:r member Rhadoo.  How it happened?
First of all I would like to thanks Sammy, Rhadoo,  Jürgen V Krebs, Dustin Koe and Marlene Ochmann.
Some months ago i was home dreaming of playing with big guys and happened! I didn’t send no song to Sammy Dee. A small accident but happy one! A friend of mine played my song on a CD at CDV, after he played he lost the cd! Gregor’s brother finds it and gave it to Sammy. Sammy sad he loves and after he came to my city, in Düsseldorf, at the same place where i was playing. I was making a warm up for Sammy, I played before him. After i played he came and he think his song was this song, the BERRY DEEP song and i was shocked!! Where did he get this song? I was asking my self and why he played this song? I didn’t know.. Thats all!
I went to Sammy and i asked him: Why he had this song? He sad: It’s a CD he get from Greg brother. I was happy, we started laughing about it and he said that he really like it and he finally told me: Work on it and bring it to Ultrastretch!


.
.
– What can we expect from you in the future?
My future program is working a lot together with David, St. joseph (he released on Platzhirsh), from Koln. I’m working with him together and with some people in Düsseldorf. So this year i’m working on releasing some stuff that i did the whole past year and maybe i’m trying to get it on my own label, but at the moment it’s a dream! I’ve been working from the couch, that’s the thing! I don’t have a studio and i’m searching for  one, so i can pull more music! Yeah! To this point i also wanna keep on working with SAMMY and stay connected with sum new friends  that i found from the last months.

.
.
– In addition to productions, are you going to perform in live? You are also a deejay. What’s your vision about this kind of performance?
I would play live one day, maybe i would wait, try to get a crew together with David St. Joseph or some people to get live set, I would like to! I do sometimes a jam at home, It’s cool! I wish to do it in the future! In the last one/two years i put more focus on the production, that’s why i do not have some mixes out.  I play with vinyl..only vinyl! I like to play more dj than producing, but at the moment i’m focus on it.


.
.
– Feel free to talk more about you :)
I have some labels that i really like, my first is PERLON, all crew for me is the best! I also play a:rpia:r, Minibar, Assamble Music, Understand, i like pluie/noir, the guys from Portugal, really good guys. Here in Düsseldorf are sum people i really like Daze Maxim’s Hello?Repeat  and also some small label i like, but in the past two years I’ve been dealing mainly with the music I’ve been doing!! So i’m a little bit out of being in label, but this is my special!

Web: Soundcloud // Facebook

Lascia un commento

Questo sito utilizza Akismet per ridurre lo spam. Scopri come vengono elaborati i dati derivati dai commenti.